Smoke Signals



CONGRATULATIONS! Our state champion scholars bowl team finished 7th (A-team) and 25th (B-team). A team won a trophy at a national tournament (Top 10 wins one). We were one of two schools to put 2 teams into the 2nd day playoffs (national champion also did). Letís celebrate this accomplishment because we all have a hand in it. It takes the entire school to pull this kind of task. Team members are Anderson Martin, Beau Moses, Travis Browning, Graden Jarrell, Matthew Wheeler, Nathan Chandler, Jonathan Tackett, Brady Wood. 

Congratulations to our Archery team for winning the Class II State Championship!!

Pride of Itawamba Band made all superior ratings from all 6 judges at competition yesterday! !

Congratulations to Annabelle Bunch for being selected Most Beautiful!  First Alternate was Leah Brown, Second Alternate was Emily Pate, Third Alternate was Maggie Collum, and Fourth Alternate was Kaylie McMillan.  Leah Brown was named Most Photogenic and Emily Pate was Miss Congeniality.  Picture

Congratulations to the Scholar's Bowl Team for winning the ICC Competition last Thursday.  They defeated TCPS in the championship game.  Graden Jarrell was recognized as the top individal scholar. They are now 51-3 on the year and will compete at Bevill State in Fayette, AL next Friday.

Congratulations to the Scholar's Bowl Team!  The won the State of Mississippi History Bowl Championship last weekend.  They wen 8-0 and defeated West Lauderdale in the championship game.  There was also a History Bee which was an individual component.  Beau Moses finished 2nd and Anderson Martin finished 3rd in the varsity and Graden Jarrell finished 2nd in the JV. 

Four students were selected for the Mid South Honor Band held at Ole Miss this past weekend. JT Johnson made 10th chair, Symphonic Band; Jasmine Gilliard 7th chair, Symphonic Band, Sarah Jarrell 11th chair, Concert Band; and Nathan Chandler 5th chair, Concert Band. Congratulations to them for a job well done. Picture

Congratulations to the Indian Bowling Team for finishing runnuer-up in the State Championship! Picture  Picture

IAHS Band - This weekend these students participated in the Northeast MS Band Directors Association clinic held at ICC. After a rigorous audition, Taylor Bishop was placed 1st chair, JT Johnson 4th chair, Nathan Chandler 6th chair, Rustin Reeves 4th chair, Tristen Everhart 10th chair and Harley Taylor 8th chair. Also after a rigorous audition process, Kayce Hunter was chosen for the All-South Honor Band held at USM. Please let these students know how proud we are of them!  Picture  Picture


Congratulations to the boys bowling team for qualifying to compete in the state tournament on February 15th. Picture


Northeast Regional Honor Band - Congratulations Taylor Bishop (first chair), JT Johnson (4th chair), Nathan Chandler (6th chair), Rustin Reeves (4th chair, Harley Taylor (8th chair), and Tristen Everhart (10th chair) for auditioning for and making Northeast Regional Honor Band. Picture


MSU Honor Band - Congratulations to Taylor Bishop (5th chair, Honor Wind Symphony) JT Johnson (3rd chair, Honor Wind Symphony) Preston Cox (3rd chair Maroon Band) and Rustin Reeves (2nd chair White Band) for being selected for and attending the Mississippi State Honor Band this past weekend! Picture


The Pride of Itawamba Band participated in the MHSAA Region I State Marching Evaluation last Saturday and received Excellent ratings in Band, and Superior ratings in the Percussion, Color Guard and Drum Major categories.  Also, Preston Cox received a superior drum major rating and was one of the 10 out of 32 drum majors to receive a superior that day.